Creek County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Creek County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oklahoma
Creek County
 

Guide to Creek County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Sapulpa
Organized: July 16, 1907
Parent County(s): Auditor please add
Neighboring Counties
Lincoln  • Okfuskee  • Okmulgee  • Pawnee  • Payne  • Tulsa
See County Maps
Courthouse
OklahomaCreekCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ok-creek.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Located in east-central Oklahoma it was named for the Creek tribe. [1] The Government County Seat is Vinita. [2]

County Courthouse

Creek County Courthouse
317 E. Lee Ave.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma 74066
Phone: 918.227-2525
Creek County Website

Clerk Court has marriage records from 1907, divorce, probate and court records;
County Clerk has land records from 1907;
District Court in Bristow has their marriage and divorce records County Court
Clerk in Drumright has their marriage and divorce records[3]

Creek County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1907 1898 1907 1907

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Creek County, Oklahoma:[4]

Cities

  • Bristow
  • Drumright (partly in Payne County, Oklahoma}
  • Mannford
  • Oilton
  • Sapulpa (county seat) (partly in Tulsa County, Oklahoma)
  • Stroud

Towns

  • Depew
  • Kellyville
  • Kiefer
  • Lawrence Creek
  • Mounds
  • Shamrock
  • Slick

Unincorporated communities

  • Bowden
  • Gypsy
  • Hilton
  • Milfay
  • Oakhurst
  • Olive
  • Silver City

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Creek County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 26,223
1920 62,480 138.3%
1930 64,115 2.6%
1940 55,503 −13.4%
1950 43,143 −22.3%
1960 40,495 −6.1%
1970 45,532 12.4%
1980 59,016 29.6%
1990 60,915 3.2%
2000 67,317 10.5%
2010 69,967 3.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Creek County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Creek County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Pawnee CountyOsage CountyTulsa CountyOkmulgee CountyOkfuskee CountyLincoln CountyPayne CountyOK CREEK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Creek County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Creek - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriage

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Bristow Historic Museum
1 Railroad Place
Bristow, OK 74010
Telephone: 918-367-5151

Museum features artifacts and exhibits which reflect the history of Bristow. It is housed in a restored railway depot. Call for hours.

Drumright Community Historical Museum
301 East Broadway
Drumright, OK 74030
Telephone: 918-352-3002
E-mail:info@drumrighthistoricalsociety.org

Societies

The Sapulpa Historical Society
100 E. Lee Avenue
Sapulpa, OK 74066
Telephone: 918-224-4871
Fax: 918-224-7765
E-mail:sapulpahistsoc@tulsacoxmail.com
Website

Bristow Genealogical Society
612 West 6th
Bristow, OK 74010

Mounds Historical Society
PO Box 274
Mounds, OK 74047
E-mail:MoundsHistSoc@aol.com

Websites

  • USGenWeb/OKGenWeb project website for Creek County. Includes maps, marriage records, name indexes, history and other information for this county.  Up until the creation of the State of Oklahoma in 1907, this area was part of the Indian Territories as the Creek Nation.  There is also a USGenWeb page for the Indian Territories.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/creek/ accessed 09/29/2016
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creek_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Creek County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creek_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 5 August 2016.