To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Crayke, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Crayke, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Crayke, Yorkshire
Crayke St Cuthbert Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bulmer
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Easingwold
Registration District Easingwold
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1704
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Cleveland
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Cuthbert Crayke is an ancient parish  a parish in the Bishopric of Durham. It was given by Egfrid, King of Northumberland, to St. Cuthbert, in the year 685, by whom it came to the church of Durham; about which time the said St. Cuthbert founded a monastery here. The ruins of Crayke Castle, which is supposed to have been a Roman fortress, and which in the time of the Saxons was a royal palace. Near the ruins of the castle stands the church, which is dedicated to St. Cuthbert.

CRAIKE, or Crayke (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Easingwould, W. division of the wapentake of Bulmer, N. riding of York, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Easingwould; containing 579 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

CRAIKE, or Crayke, a parish in Easingwold district, N. R. Yorkshire; 2½ miles NE of Easingwold, and 3¾ SSW of Ampleforth r. station. A monastery was founded in the parish, in 685; and destroyed by the Danes in 882. A castle in the Tudor style was built by Neville, Bishop of Durham, who died in 1457.  There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[2]

Neighbouring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Brandsby, Yorkshire
Coxwold, Yorkshire
Easingwold, Yorkshire
Marton cum Moxby, Yorkshire
Stillington, Yorkshire

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Crayke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Crayke Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Easingwold Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites
[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales (1848) Adapted 14 November 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 30 April 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk