Crayke, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Crayke, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Easingwold|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1704|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Cleveland|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
St Cuthbert Crayke is an ancient parish a parish in the Bishopric of Durham. It was given by Egfrid, King of Northumberland, to St. Cuthbert, in the year 685, by whom it came to the church of Durham; about which time the said St. Cuthbert founded a monastery here. The ruins of Crayke Castle, which is supposed to have been a Roman fortress, and which in the time of the Saxons was a royal palace. Near the ruins of the castle stands the church, which is dedicated to St. Cuthbert.
CRAIKE, or Crayke (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Easingwould, W. division of the wapentake of Bulmer, N. riding of York, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Easingwould; containing 579 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
CRAIKE, or Crayke, a parish in Easingwold district, N. R. Yorkshire; 2½ miles NE of Easingwold, and 3¾ SSW of Ampleforth r. station. A monastery was founded in the parish, in 685; and destroyed by the Danes in 882. A castle in the Tudor style was built by Neville, Bishop of Durham, who died in 1457. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Crayke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Crayke Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.