Crawford County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Crawford County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Crawford County

Guide to Crawford County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Girard
Organized: February 13, 1867
Parent County(s): Bourbon and Cherokee [1]
Neighboring Counties
Barton (MO)  • Bourbon  • Cherokee  • Jasper (MO)  • Labette  • Neosho  • Vernon (MO)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasCrawfordCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Crawford County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Samuel J. Crawford, Governor of Kansas. The County has Girard as its seat and the County was created February 13, 1867. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Crawford County Courthouse
111 E. Forest
P.O. Box 249
Girard, Kansas 66743-0249
Phone: 316.724.6115
E-mail: countyclerk@ckt.net
Crawford County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1886-1911 and burial records 1860’s-1976.
Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and naturalization records.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1869 military records. [1]

Crawford County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1886 1867 1886 1867 1869 1870 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[4]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Crawford County, Kansas:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Baker
  • Crawford
  • Grant
  • Lincoln
  • Osage
  • Sheridan
  • Sherman
  • Walnut
  • Washington


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Crawford County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

CD tombstone transcriptions are avilable at the County Genealogical Society. Some Crawford County burials can be found online at

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 8,160
1880 16,851 106.5%
1890 30,286 79.7%
1900 38,809 28.1%
1910 51,178 31.9%
1920 61,800 20.8%
1930 49,329 −20.2%
1940 44,191 −10.4%
1950 40,231 −9.0%
1960 37,032 −8.0%
1970 37,850 2.2%
1980 37,916 0.2%
1990 35,568 −6.2%
2000 38,242 7.5%
2010 39,134 2.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[6] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[7] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Crawford County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Crawford CountyAllen CountyBourbon CountyNeosho CountyBarton CountyVernon County, MissouriJasper County, MissouriLabette CountyCherokee CountyCrawford, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

  • For information about Civil War records see Bourbon County.

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Kansas. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Kansas Military Records.

Collections Covering Multiple Wars

Civil War

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see Kansas Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs


Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Crawford and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

The Crawford County Genealogical Society
308 N. Walnut
Pittsburg, KS 66762
Telephone: 620-230-5558
E-mail: genealogy@pplonline.org
Website

Crawford County Historical Society
651 South Highway 69
Pittsburg 66762

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crawford County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Crawford, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crawford_County,_Kansas" 8/10/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crawford County, Kansas. Page 249 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 234.
  4. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Crawford County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crawford_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 14 September 2017.
  6. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  7. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.