Cransford, Suffolk Genealogy
Guide to Cransford, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Cransford, Suffolk | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ancient Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Plomesgate |
| County | Suffolk |
| Poor Law Union | Plomesgate |
| Registration District | Plomesgate |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1653 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1698 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Orford |
| Diocese | Norwich |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk |
| Location of Archive | |
| Suffolk Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History
CRANSFORD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union and hundred of Plomesgate, E. division of Suffolk, 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Framlingham.[1]
Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.
Resources
- Cransford in the FamilySearch Catalog
Civil Registration
Cransford is in Plomesgate district. To search an index of Plomesgate district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.
Church records
Cransford, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| 1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2] | |||||
| BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3] | |||||
| NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4] |
| Cransford, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| 1813 | 1813-1837 | |||||
| BOYD | |
1665-1837 | |
| ||
| NBI | |
|
1653-1900 | | ||
![[tree]](/wiki/en/File:FamilySearchTree.png){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue. |
Census records
There are census records available for Cransford from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Cransford Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.
Probate records
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Cransford was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-720. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
- ↑ 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
| ||||
