Coxwold, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Coxwold, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Easingwold|
|Registration District||Easingwold; Helmsley; Thirsk|
|Parish registers: 1583|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Coxwold St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire, which is extensive.Other places in the parish include: Angram Grange, Yearsley, Byland Abbey, Byland cum Membris, Grange Angram, Newbrough, Newburgh, Oulston, Thornton cum Baxby, Thornton on the Hill, Thornton on the Hill and Baxby, Thornton on the Hill cum Baxby, Wass, Wildon Grange, and Baxby.
The Church of St Michael Thirsk Bank Coxwold has been designated as a grade I listed building British Listed Building
Coxwold is a village and civil parish in the Hambleton district of North Yokshire
See also Coxwold Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 713-717 here .
Yearsley Church of Holy Trinity was formed from this parish in 1855 for a time as an ecclesiastical parish but was reunited. The civil parish of Yearsley was created in 1866 see also Yearsley Wikipedia
The Church of Holy Trinity was built in 1839 as a a chapel of ease in Well Lane Yearsley and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Coxwold exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|COXWOLD PARISH (1583) Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.