Cowsby, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Cowsby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Thirsk|
|Parish registers: 1697|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Probate Court||Pre-1836 - Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Durham and the Dean and Chapter of Allerton and Allertonshire; Post-1835 - Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
COWSBY, a parish, in the union of Thirsk, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York, 6¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Thirsk; containing 108 inhabitants. 
Cowsby (St Michael and All Angels) is an Ancient Parish which includes Kepwick within it's boundary. It is in the union of Thirsk, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Cowsby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|COWSBY PARISH (1719) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Cowsby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the COWSBY PARISH page.
Records deposited at the North Yorkshire Record Office
Baptisms: 1719-1990 Marriages: 1719-1989 Burials: 1719-1978
1661-1662, 1669, 1697, 1718, 1768-1812, (all at Durham University Library, Archives and Special Collections Service). The following are at Bothwick Institute University of York : 1813-1826, 1828-1835, 1837-1839, 1841, 1843, 1844, 1847- 1852, 1860, 1861
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1719.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 710-713. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.