To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Covington County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Covington County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Andalusia
Organized: December 7, 1821
Parent County(s): Henry[1]
Neighboring Counties
Butler  • Coffee  • Conecuh  • Crenshaw  • Escambia  • Geneva  • Okaloosa (FL)  • Walton (FL)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Covington County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Covington County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named is in honor of Brigadier General Leonard Covington of Maryland.[2]The county is located in the south-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Covington County Courthouse
1K N Court Square
Andalusia, AL 36420
Phone: 334-428-2520
Fax: 334-428-2531
Covington County Website

Probate Judge has marriage, probate and land records. Clerk Circuit Court has court and divorce records.[4]

Covington County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1889 1865 1909 1881 1882 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Covington County had destructive courthouse fires in 1839, 1878, and 1895, and was destroyed by flood in 1847. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 26-27 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1821 Covington County was created 7 December 1821 from Henry County.
  • County seat: Andalusia[7]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Covington County:[8]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Covington, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Covington county cemeteries.

  • Interment.net Alabama cemetery records by county.
  • Vol. 1 Additional Covington County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records at FamilySearch Digital Library.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Covington County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Covington County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1830 1,522
1840 2,435 60.0%
1850 3,645 49.7%
1860 6,469 77.5%
1870 4,868 −24.7%
1880 5,639 15.8%
1890 7,536 33.6%
1900 15,346 103.6%
1910 32,124 109.3%
1920 38,103 18.6%
1930 41,356 8.5%
1940 42,417 2.6%
1950 40,373 −4.8%
1960 35,631 −11.7%
1970 34,079 −4.4%
1980 36,850 8.1%
1990 36,478 −1.0%
2000 37,631 3.2%
2010 37,765 0.4%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Covington County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Covington County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

ButlerCrenshawCoffeeGenevaEscambiaConecuhWalton County, FLOkaloosa County, FLAL COVINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Covington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Covington County:

- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B (Covington Hunters)
- 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Covington County has one book.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry $. Covington County is in District 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Covington Andalusia Public Library
212 South Three Notch Street
Andalusia, AL 36420
Phone: 334-222-6612
Website
Facebook

Florala Public Library
1214 4th St
Florala, Alabama 36442
334-858-3525
Website
Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Covington County Historical Society
Historical Central St
P. O. Box 1582
Andalusia, AL 36420
website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Covington County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/covington/ 06/02/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Covington, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Covington_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 26-27. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Covington County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Covington_County,_Alabama, accessed 9 October 2018.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.