Covington (Independent City), Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Covington, Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Covington, Virginia
—  Independent City  —
Location in Virginia
Founded 1952
Website http://www.covington.va.us/

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The City of Covington is located in the Southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of General Leonard Covington, the outstanding and courageous hero of the War of 1812[1].

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Covington Courthouse

For additional records, see Alleghany County.


Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Covington (Independent City), Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the City
  • FindAGrave Clicking on Place Name (without the word "cemetery") may list more.
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1952--Covington was created in 1952 from Alleghany County. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

<
Clifton Forge (Independent City)Botetourt CountyAlleghany CountyBath CountyVA COVINGTON IND CITY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. http://www.covington.va.us/about-covington/history/
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).