To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

County of Swansea, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to County of Swansea, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

County of Swansea

The City and County of Swansea (Welsh: Dinas a Sir Abertawe) is a Unitary Authority centred on the city of Swansea in Wales.

History[edit | edit source]

The county was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county was previously part of the former County of West Glamorgan and, before that, the former historic county of Glamorgan which was abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the city of Swansea.

Communities[edit | edit source]

See Communities in Swansea

Parishes[edit | edit source]

  • See a list of the parishes in Swansea with links to their pages.
  • Interactive map of Swansea Parishes.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Register Office[edit | edit source]

Register Office,
Civic Centre,
Oystermouth Road,
SWANSEA,
SA1 3SN,
Wales.

Archive[edit | edit source]

The county borough forms part of the West Glamorgan Archives in Swansea.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Family History[edit | edit source]

Local History[edit | edit source]

Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]