To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

County of Powys, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to County of Powys, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

1974 - 1996 Powys[edit | edit source]

WalesPowys1974.png
The county of Powys in eastern Wales was formed from the historic counties of Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire, most of Breconshire, and a small part of Denbighshire.

The county takes its name from the ancient Welsh Kingdom of Powys, which occupied the northern two thirds of the county's area, as well as lands now in Shropshire, England. The Kingdom of Powys came to an end when it was occupied by Llywelyn ap Gruffydd of Gwynedd during the 1260s.

The county of Powys was originally created on 1 April 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972, replacing Montgomeryshire; Radnorshire and Breconshire, the former administrative counties. These former counties were re-designated as administrative districts.


Online Records[edit | edit source]

Modern Powys[edit | edit source]

WalesPowys.png

On 1 April 1996, the districts were abolished, and Powys was reconstituted as a unitary authority, with a minor border adjustment in the north-east. These changes added the communities of Llansilin and Llangedwyn (from the Glyndŵr district in Clwyd) and moved the county border to include all of (and not, as previously, half of) Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant in Powys These places had all been part of historic Denbighshire.

Powys is the largest county, in area, in modern Wales. The administrative headquarters are at Llandrindod.