To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

County of Newport, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to County of Newport, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Wales-county-newport</center

History[edit | edit source]

The county was formed (as the County Borough of Newport) on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county was previously part of the former County of Gwent and, before that, the former historic county of Monmouthshire which was abolished in 1974.

In 2002, the town of Newport was given city status. The council then renamed itself City of Newport or Dinas Casnewydd in Welsh. It is a Unitary Authority centered on the city of Newport in Wales.

The headquarters of the authority are in the city of Newport.

Communities[edit | edit source]

Parishes[edit | edit source]

  • See a list of the parishes in Newport with links to their pages.
  • Interactive map of Newport Parishes.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

See Communities in Newport

Register Office[edit | edit source]

Register Office,
The Mansion House,
4 Stow Park Circle,
NEWPORT,
NP20 4HE,
Wales.

Archive[edit | edit source]

The county borough forms part of the Gwent Archives in Ebbw Vale.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Family History[edit | edit source]

Local History[edit | edit source]

Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]