To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

County of Cardiff, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to County of Cardiff, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

County of cardiff

The County of Cardiff (Welsh: Sir Caerdydd) is a Unitary Authority centred on the capital city of Cardiff in Wales.

History[edit | edit source]

The county was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county borough was previously part of the former County of South Glamorgan and, before that, the former historic county of Glamorgan which was abolished in 1974.

Communities[edit | edit source]

See Communities in Cardiff

Parishes[edit | edit source]

  • See a list of the parishes in Cardiff with links to their pages.
  • Interactive map of Cardiff Parishes.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Register Office[edit | edit source]

The Register Office,
City Hall (North West Entrance),
Cathays Park,
CARDIFF,
CF10 3ND,
Wales

Archive[edit | edit source]

The county forms part of the Glamorgan Archives in Cardiff.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Family History[edit | edit source]

Local History[edit | edit source]

Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]