County Down, Ireland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from County Down)
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
Northern Ireland
Counties of Ireland
County Down
County Down
Wiki Topics
Northern Ireland Wiki Topics
Record Types
Local Research Resources
Historic Ireland (pre-1922)
Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Ireland Record Types
Ireland Background
Ireland Local Research Resources


County Down.jpg

Guide to County Down ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History

It was during the Williamite War in Ireland from 1689 to 1691 the county was a center of Protestant rebellion against the rule of the Catholic James II. The Protestants formed a small force and were defeated by the Irish Army at the Break of Dromore They were forced to retreat leading to the whole of Down falling under Jacobite control. Later that year Marshal Schomberg's large Williamite expedition arrived in Belfast Lough and captured Bangor. After laying siege to Carrickfergus Schomberg marched south to Dundalk Camp, clearing County Down and much of the rest of East Ulster of Jacobite troops.

The population of Down is roughly 531,665 people.[1]

General County Research Information

County Down (Irish: Contae an Dúin) is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland. It is situated in the province of Ulster. Further information about County Down is available at the GenUKI site.

Archives and Libraries

Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
66 Balmoral Avenue
Belfast BT9 6NY
E-mail: gro.nisra@dfpni.gov.uk

Internet: Proni

The above is the official repository for the public records of Northern Ireland. PRONI also collects records from private sources.

General Register Office
Oxford House
49/55 Chichester St.
Belfast BTI 4HL
Internet: Proni
E-mail: gro.nisra@dfpni.gov.uk

Register of births and deaths in Northern Ireland since 1864. Marriage records from 1922 on.

Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland
Colby House
Stranmillis Court
Malone
Lower Belfast BT9 5BJ
Internet: Index
E-mail: osni@nics.gov.uk

Other: ancestryireland

Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information

Civil Registration

Land and Property

Maps

1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor

Societies

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.

Ulster Historical Foundation
12 College Square
East Belfast
Northern Ireland BT1 6DD
Tel: (01232) 33 22 88 Fax: (01232) 23 98 85
Internet: Ancestry Ireland
E-mail: info@ifhf.ie

Down County Museum
The Mall Downpatrick
County Down BT30 6AH
Down County Museum

Dromore Dioceasan Archives
Bishops House Newry
County Down
By appointment Collections include records of baptisms, marriages and deaths for each parish 1926- as well as other diocesan parish papers

South Eastern Education Library Board
Library Headquarters
Windmill Hill
Ballynahinch County Down
Northern Ireland Internet: Seelb
E-mail: info@seelb.org.uk

Websites

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Down," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Down. Visited 18 October.