County Cavan, Ireland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from County Cavan)
Jump to: navigation, search
Ireland
Counties of Ireland
County Cavan
Ireland Wiki Topics
Flag of Ireland.png
Beginning Research
County Cavan
Wiki Topics
Ireland Record Types
Ireland Background
Ireland Ethnicity
Ireland Local Research Resources

Guide to County Cavan ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

County Cavan.jpg


{{{link}}}

History

County Cavan (Irish: Contae an Chabháin) is a county in Ireland. It is part of the province of Ulster. The county town is Cavan. The population of [COUNTY] is roughly [NUMBER] people.[1]

Archives and Libraries

County Cavan Genealogy Research Centre
Cana House
Farnham Street
Cavan Town
County Cavan
Ireland
TEL: (049) 4361094 FAX: (049) 4331494

Cavan County Library
Farnham Street
Cavan Town
County Cavan
Ireland E-mail: cavancountylibrary@tinet.ie or E-mail: cavancountylibrary@eircom.net

Includes Barron, Famham Estate, and other related papers. Also includes Griffith Valuation maps, legal papers, including rentals and wills for Cavan 18th and the 19th century. Also includes photography collections.

Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
66 Balmoral Avenue
Belfast BT9 6NY
Ireland
E-mail: proni@dcalni.gov.uk

The above is the official repository for the public records of Northern Ireland. PRONI also collects records from private sources.

Census

Census for the 1841 parish of Killeshandra, survives and is available to search at:

Church Records

Indexes to Church of Ireland Marriage License Bonds for the Diocese of Kilmore and Ardagh

Civil Registration

Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information

Land and Property

Maps

1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor

Probates

Abstracts of Some Ardagh, Clogher and Kilmore Diocesan Wills. Alphabetical list of Wills proved from the above Diocese covering years 1739-1810. Article in The Irish Ancestor  , vol.VI.no.2.1974, pages 112-121, Family History Ref. 941.5 B2i v5-6.

Societies

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.

Websites =


  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "[PAGE NAME]," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, [URL]. Visited [DATE].