To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

County Borough of Wrexham, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to County Borough of Wrexham, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

County Borough of Wrexham

A guide to genealogy in the County Borough of Wrexham, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The County Borough of Wrexham (Welsh: Bwrdeistref Sirol Wrecsam) is a Unitary Authority centred on the town of Wrexham in Wales.

History[edit | edit source]

The county borough was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. Most of the county was previously part of the former district of Wrexham Maelor in the former county of Clwyd but several communities come from the former district of Glyndŵr, also in the former county of Clwyd, and previosuly in the historic county of Denbighshire which were abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the Guildhall, Queen's Square, Wrexham.

Communities[edit | edit source]

The county borough of Wrexham is divided into the communities of:

Parishes[edit | edit source]

  • See a list of the parishes in Wrexham with links to their pages.
  • Interactive map of Wrexham Parishes.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Registry Office[edit | edit source]

Superintendent Registrar
The Guildhall
WREXHAM
Wales
LL11 1AY

Telephone: +44 (0)1978 292027

Archive[edit | edit source]

The A. N. Palmer Centre for Local Studies & Archives
Wrexham County Borough Museum,
County Buildings,
Regent Street,
WREXHAM,
Wales.
LL11 1RB
Telephone: +44 (0)1978 317973
Email: archives@wrexham.gov.uk

See also[edit | edit source]

Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]