To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Borough of Merthyr Tydfil, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil - 1996

A guide to genealogy in the County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil (Welsh: Bwrdeistref Sirol Merthyr Tudful) is a Unitary Authority centred on the town of Merthyr Tydfil in Wales.

History[edit | edit source]

The county borough was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county borough was previously part of the former County of Mid Glamorgan and, before that, the former historic county of Glamorgan which was abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the town of Merthyr Tydfil.

Parishes[edit | edit source]

See Communities in Merthyr Tydfil

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Register Office[edit | edit source]

Merthyr Tydfil Register Office
Tŷ Penderyn
26 High Street
Merthyr Tydfil
CF47 8DP
Wales

Archive[edit | edit source]

The county borough forms part of the Glamorgan Archives in Cardiff.

Family History[edit | edit source]