County Armagh, Ireland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from County Armagh)
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
Northern Ireland
Counties of Ireland
County Armagh
County Armagh
Wiki Topics
Northern Ireland Wiki Topics
Record Types
Local Research Resources
Historic Ireland (pre-1922)
Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Ireland Record Types
Ireland Background
Ireland Local Research Resources
County Armagh.jpg

Guide to County Armagh ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History

Ancient Armagh was the territory of the Ulaid before the fourth century AD. It was ruled by the Red Branch and the Red Branch play an important role in the Ulster Cycle, as well as the Cattle Raid of Cooley. However, they were eventually driven out of the area by the Three Collas, who invaded in the 4th century and held power until the 12th. The Clan Colla ruled the area for 800 years. The chief Irish septs of the county were descendants of the Collas. Armagh was the seat of St. Patrick, and the Catholic Church continues to be his see. County Armagh is presently one of four counties of Northern Ireland to have a majority of the population from a Catholic background.This is according to the 2011 census.

The southern part of the County has been a stronghold of support for the IRA, earning it the nickname "Bandit Country". South Armagh is predominantly nationalist, with most of the population being opposed to any form of British presence, especially that of a military nature. On 10 March 2009, the CIRA claimed responsibility for the fatal shooting of a PSNI officer in Craigavon, County Armagh—the first police fatality in Northern Ireland since 1998. The officer was fatally shot by a sniper as he and a colleague investigated "suspicious activity" at a house nearby when a window was smashed by youths.

The population of Armagh is roughly 174,792 people.[1]

General County Research Information

County Armagh (Irish: Contae Ard Mhacha) is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland. Further information about County Antrim is available at the Genuki site.

Archives and Libraries

Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
66 Balmoral Avenue
Belfast BT9 6NY
Ireland
E-mail Proni


General Register Office
Oxford House
49/55 Chichester St
Belfast BT1 4HL
Ireland
E-mail Proni
Register of births and deaths in Northern Ireland since 1864. Marriage records from 1922 onward.

Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland
Colby House
Stranmillis Court
Malone
Lower Belfast, BT9 5BJ
Ireland
E-mail

Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information

Church Records

Presbyterian Historical Society Church House
Fisherwick Place
Belfast BT1 6DW
Ireland

Moravian Church
25 Church Road
Gracehill Ballymena
County Antrim
Ireland
E-mail

Religious Society of Friends
4 Magheralave Road
Lisburn BT28 3BD
County Antrim
E-mail

Civil Registration

Land and Property

Maps

1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor

Societies

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.

Websites

General County Research Information

Further information about County Armagh is available at the GenUKI site.

Archives and Libraries

  • Armagh Public Library
    Abbey St.
    Armagh BT61 7DY
    Tel: 028 37523142 - Fax: 028 37524177
    E-mail: admin@armaghpubliclibrary.co.uk

Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information

Maps

For a larger version of this map, click here.

Armagh Map.jpg

Societies

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.

North of Ireland Family History Society
c/o Graduate School of Education
The Queen's University of Belfast
69 University Street
Belfast BT7 1HL, Northern Ireland
Internet: North of Ireland family History Society

Websites

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Armagh," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Armagh. Visited 18 October 2017.