Coundon, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Coundon, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Coundon Co Durham St James
|Poor Law Union||Auckland|
|Parish registers: 1842|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
COUNDON, a township, in the parish of St. Andrew Auckland, union of Auckland, NW division of Darlington ward, S division of the county of Durham.
Additional information: Coundon St James was created in 1842 from chapelry in Auckland St Andrew, Durham Ancient Parish and includes: Windlestone and Westerton. The church was rebuilt in 1872 on a new site set further back from the road, and on a much grander in scale, the accommodation being increased to 530 seats. Again dedicated to St. James, it was designed by the leading architect Ewan Christian, and is an imposing stone building in the Early English style with lancet windows, large and with an apsidal east end. Instead of being served by a perpetual curate, it now had its own vicar.
Chapels were also built for the Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists and New Connexions.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Coundon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Coundon Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- New Connexions
- Primitive Methodist
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodists
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Coundon (see St. Andrew Auckland) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 700-702. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.