To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Coryell County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Coryell County, Texas)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Coryell County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png



Coryell County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Coryell County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 4 February, 1854
County Seat Gatesville
Courthouse
TexasCoryellCourthouse.jpg
Address Coryell County Courthouse
PO Box 237
Gatesville, TX 76528
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]


County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Coryell County Courthouse
PO Box 237
Gatesville, TX 76528
Phone: 254.865.5016

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and court and land records from 1854[1]

County Clerk

P.O. Box 237
Gatesville 76528
Phone: 254-865-5911
Fax: 254-865-8631

District Clerk

P.O. Box 4
Gatesville 76528
Phone: 254-865-5911 ext. 291
Fax: 254-865-5064


Coryell County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1903 1854 1903 1854 1854 1854 1829
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1903. General compliance by the 1930s.

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1854--Coryell County was created 4 February 1854 from Bell and McLennan Counties.

  • County seat: Gatesville [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

Former Communities
[edit | edit source]

Henson's Creek | Spring Hill | Station Creek | Turnover | Lincolnville

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Bell  • Bosque  • Hamilton  • Lampasas  • McLennan

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
TX Gravestones WorldCat Tombstone Project
BillionGraves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
BillionGraves Linkpendium
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone Interment
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18602,666
18704,12454.7%
188010,924164.9%
189016,87354.5%
190021,30826.3%
191021,7031.9%
192020,601−5.1%
193019,999−2.9%
194020,2261.1%
195016,284−19.5%
196023,96147.1%
197035,31147.4%
198056,76760.8%
199064,21313.1%
200074,97816.8%
201075,3880.5%


Church[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

  • 1861, 1868-1870 Court Dockets from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site

Land[edit | edit source]

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Coryell County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • History of Coryell County, 1965 by Zelma Scott.
  • Coryell County, Texas, Families, 1854–1985, published 1986, by the Coryell County Genealogical Society.
  • Copperas Cove, City of Five Hills: A Centennial History, 1980, by Jerry K. Smith and Patrick D. McLaughlin.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Hamilton CountyBosque CountyMcLennan CountyBell CountyBurnet CountyLampasas CountyTX CORYELL.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]

Fort Gates originally Camp Gates, established in 1849 to protect the settlers.

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coryell County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Central Texas Genealogical Society, Inc.
c/o Waco-McLennan County Library
1717 Austin Avenue
Waco, Texas 76701
Website

Coryell County Genealogical Society
811 Main Street
Gatesville 76528

Gatesville Public Library
111 N 8th St
Gatesville, TX 76528-1461
Telephone Number: 254-865-5367
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coryell County, Texas. Page 661 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coryell County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Coryell County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coryell_County,_Texas, accessed 31 March 2019.