Corse-du-Sud, France Genealogy
Guide to Corse-du-Sud Department ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|France Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- 1 History
- 2 Localities (Communes)
- 3 Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online
- 4 Online Census Records
- 5 Online Local Databases and Extracted Records
- 6 Microfilm Records of the FamilySearch Library
- 7 Writing for Records
- 8 Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy
- 9 Search Strategy
- 10 Genealogical Societies and Help Groups
- 11 Family History Centers
- 12 Websites
- 13 References
History[edit | edit source]
The department was formed on 15 September 1975, when the department of Corsica was divided into Haute-Corse and Corse-du-Sud. Its boundaries correspond to the former department of Liamone, which existed from 1793 to 1811.
Localities (Communes)[edit | edit source]
Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online[edit | edit source]
The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. For more information on these records and how to use them, read France Church Records and France Civil Registration. Additional instructions and practice activities are available:
- Alsace-Lorraine - Activity, Answer Key
- Alsace-Lorraine: Department Archive Records Online - Instruction
Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department:
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Corse-du-Sud, where you will find these records.
See Using France Online Department Archives for step by step instructions on finding and reading these records. For a demonstration of navigating archives websites, watch the video, Using France Department Archives Online.
Online Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records can support your search in civil and church records. They can help identify all family members. When families have similar names they help determine which children belong in each family. See France Census.
Online Local Databases and Extracted Records[edit | edit source]
Groups devoted to genealogy have also extracted and/or indexed records for specific localities, time periods, religious groups, etc. Since church records at the departmental archives are generally not indexed, you might find an index here that will speed up your searching.
- FamilySearch Collections:
- 1536-1897 - France, Protestant Church Records, 1536-1897 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1542-1900 - France, Civil Registration, Various Communes, 1542-1900 at FamilySearch — index
- Tout en Un (All in One) Online Databases Check for online databases and records in right column. Check back occasionally to see if new databases have become available.
- Filae, index and images, ($).
- Tout en Un (All in One) Local Databases Here you may find extracted/translated records, record indexes, and other helpful records such as cemetery, land, or military records.
- Geneanet Collaborative Indexes Search by locality (parish or commune).
- CorsicaGenealugia Databases
Microfilm Records of the FamilySearch Library[edit | edit source]
The church and civil registration records have all been microfilmed. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. To find a microfilm: Click on Corse , find and click on "Places within France, Corse," and choose your locality from the list.
Writing for Records[edit | edit source]
Online records tend to cover only the time before 100 years, due to privacy laws. You can write to civil registration offices and local churches who might honor requests for more recent records of close family members for the purpose of genealogy.
For a civil registration office, address your request to:
Monsieur l'officier de l'état-civil
Mairie de (Town)
(Postal code) (Town)
For a parish church:
Monsieur le Curé
(Church --see The Catholic Directory for church name and address)
(Town) (Postal Code) France
For other addresses and for help writing your request in French, use French Letter Writing Guide.
Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy[edit | edit source]
It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
During the reign of Napoleon, a different calendar was used. You will want to translate the dates written in these records back to normal Julian calendar dates. Charts in this article will help you:
- Alsace-Lorraine: Converting French Republican Calendar Dates - Instruction
There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
- Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records
These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:
Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual. Much more is covered, but these first four lessons are especially useful.
- Chapter 1: OLD FRENCH RECORDS
- Chapter 2: PARISH CHRISTENING AND CIVIL BIRTH ENTRIES
- Chapter 3: MARRIAGE ENTRIES
- Chapter 4: OTHER ENTRIES
- Chapter 5: FRENCH HANDWRITING AND SPELLING
Search Strategy[edit | edit source]
- Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
- Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
- You can estimate the ages of the parents and search for their birth records.
- Search the death registers for all family members.
- Then repeat the whole process for both the father and the mother.
- If earlier generations are not in the record, search neighboring parishes.
Genealogical Societies and Help Groups[edit | edit source]
- Association for Research on the History of Corsican Families
- House of Corsica
- 69, rue Sylvabelle
- 13006 MARSEILLE
- Tel:04 91 53 44 97 // 06 20 02 20 02
- Association Généalogique Corse
- Helps you find the history of your ancestors Created in 2004, it now includes 80 members and a repertoire by patronyms studied.
- Genealogical Association Corsica
- Mrs. Claudine DESPREZ
- 1, rue du Cdt L'Hermitier
- 20200 Bastia
- Tel. :04 95 46 38 75
- Fax: 04 95 46 38 75
- E-mail: mailto:firstname.lastname@example.org
- Association FRANCISCORSA
- House of Associations
- Convent Sant'Angelo
- Rue du Docteur Morucci
- 20200 Bastia
- Phone: 04 95 32 51 73
- Email: email@example.com
- Monticello Historical and Genealogical Studies Association
- Tel.: 04 95 65 35 61
- Fax: 04 95 65 35 61
- Postal address:
- AEHGM House of Associations
- Bâtiment Jeanne Agostini
- 20220 Monticello
- E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Our database currently has more than 53,000 names. This file is made up of parish acts, registers of size and civil status of Monticello, but also the neighboring municipalities: Santa-Reparata, Corbara, Ile-Rousse, but also Lumio, Belgodere, Speloncato, etc, As well as general population censuses available to these same municipalities.
- Genealogy Association Corsica
- 3, rue de Turbigo
- 75001 Paris
- E-mail: email@example.com
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
- Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of FamilySearch and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States), located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy and family history by:
- Giving personal one-on-one assistance to patrons
- Providing access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program
- Offering free how-to classes (varies by location)
- There is no cost to visit a Family History Center or FamilySearch Library. They are open to anyone with an interest in genealogical research. They are operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Partner sites such as Ancestry.com, MyHeritage.com, FindMyPast.com, and many CD based collections can be searched free of charge.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Tout en Un Corse-du-Sud
- Corsica Portal
- Cousins 20
- Geneanet Surname Search
- France Geneawiki Genealogical Sources includes instructional discussions of various records available.
- French Republican Calendar. This site will help you translate dates used by France from 24 October 1793 to 31 December 1805.
- There are parallel articles also available on the French Language Wiki. Because they are maintained by different authors, links may be added there that do not appear here. Generally, the articles translate automatically to English when accessed.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Corse-du-Sud," Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corse-du-Sud (accessed October 30, 2018).