Cornwood, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Cornwood, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Plympton St Mary|
|Registration District||Plympton St Mary|
|Parish registers: 1669|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CORNWOOD (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Plympton St. Mary, hundred of Ermington, Ermington and Plympton, and S. divisions of Devon. The church is in the ancient English style, and has three stone stalls and a piscina. There is a chapel for the district of Ivy-Bridge, at the extremity of the parish. The aunt of Sir Walter Raleigh resided at Fardd, in the parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Cornwood, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|Cornwood, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|IARC||1685-1800 (gaps)||1691-1830 (gaps)||1685-1834 (gaps)|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Transcribed census records from 1841 to 1911 for Cornwood parish can be found at http://genuki.cs.ncl.ac.uk/DEV/Cornwood/index.html#Census
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Information about old Cornwood records and residents may be obtained from the Online Parish Clerk for Cornwood
- Cornwood on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 685-693. Date accessed: 19 November 2012.
- 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.
- Cecil H. Harper, 'Extracts from the Parish Registers of Cornwood, Co. Devon,' in George W. Marshall, ed., The Genealogist, Vol. 7 (1883):164-170. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.