Copiah County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Copiah County

Guide to Copiah County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hazlehurst
Organized: 21 January 1823
Parent County(s): Hinds[1]
Neighboring Counties
Claiborne  • Hinds  • Jefferson  • Lawrence  • Lincoln  • Rankin  • Simpson
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiCopiahCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Copiah County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

This county was named for a Choctaw Indian word meaning calling panther. Copiah County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Copiah County Courthouse
PO Box 507
Hazlehurst, MS 39083
Phone: 601-894-3021
Copiah County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records from 1840, probate and land records from 1825 and confederate veterans records.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1825 and court records.[3]

Copiah County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1823 1823 1823 1830

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1823 Copiah County was created 21 January 1823 from Hinds County.
  • County seat: Hazlehurst[4]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Copiah County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Copiah County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Copiah County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans
A researcher has compiled 4 lists of the slave owners and slaves as enumerated in the 1850 and 1860 Federal Censuses for Copiah County[5]

A register of former slaves showing their former slave owners can be found at Mississippi Freedmen's Bureau Office Records, 1865-1872.
The register was created by the Freedmen’s Bureau and contains entries for approximately 2000 slaves living in Copiah County. It is undated, but based on the ages of the former slaves, the register was created between 1865 to 1866. The register contains the following information for most of the entries:

  1. Former slave’s current name
  2. Former slave’s gender
  3. Former slave’s age
  4. Former slave’s color
  5. Former slave’s occupation
  6. Former slave’s current residence
  7. Former owner’s name
  8. Former residence. This can be a place name or a plantation name.

The entries are grouped by the former owner’s name. The former owners are not arranged in alphabetical order in the register. The register has not been indexed and must browsed.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Copiah County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Claiborne CountyJefferson CountyLincoln CountyLawrence CountySimpson CountyRankin CountyHinds CountyMS COPIAH.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Copiah County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Copiah County:

- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company K - McWillie Blues
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company A - Terrall [Terrell] Dragoons
Company B - Copiah Horse Guards
Company E - Ramsey’s Company
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company F - Crystal Springs Guards
Company G - Rockport Steel Blades
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company H - Bahala Rifles
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company I - Bahala Rifles
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company A - Charlie Clark Rifles [also listed as Co. H]
Company D - Pettus Relief, aka Pettus Rifles

World War I and II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Copiah County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Copiah County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Copiah County Historical Genealogical Society
    Facebook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Copiah, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copiah_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. From LisaAndRoger.com website http://lisaandroger.com/2009/06/giving-a-little-back/