Coos County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Coos County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Coos County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||December 22, 1853|
|Address||Coos County Courthouse|
250 N Baxter Street
Coquille, OR 97423
Coos County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Quick Facts
- 3 Resources
- 3.1 Cemeteries
- 3.2 Census
- 3.3 Church History and Records
- 3.4 Court Records
- 3.5 Gazetteers
- 3.6 Land and Property
- 3.7 Maps
- 3.8 Military History and Records
- 3.9 Newspapers
- 3.10 Probate Records
- 3.11 Rivers and Waterways
- 3.12 Taxation
- 3.13 Vital Records
- 4 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for a tribe of Native Americans who live in the region. The County is located in the west area of the state. 
Coos County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth and death records 1906-1929, marriage records from 1857, land records from 1854, widows’ military pensions 1929-1950 and some school records; State Courts have divorce and probate records. 
Records Held at the Courthouse[edit | edit source]
- County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Coos County Court House as of August/September 2004.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
|} Named after a tribe of Native Americans who lived in the area.
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Parent Counties[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
18 December 1855: Part was taken to form Curry County.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
- Allegany: This post office was established Mar. 25, 1893, with William Vincamp first postmaster.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1855 Territorial Transcription and Index
- 1857 Territorial Transcription and Index
- 1858 Territorial Transcription and Index
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Historic Oregon Newspapers http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/ as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.
Of particular interest to Coos county researchers:
The Bandon Recorder
Semi-Weekly Bandon Recorder
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Coos Bay Genealogical Forum
P.O. Box 1067
North Bend 97459
Coos County Historical Society
1220 Sherman Ave
North Bend 97459-3666
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Coos Bay Oregon Family History Center (North Bend) 3355 Virginia Ave North Bend, OR 97459 United States Location Map
- Bandon Oregon Family History Center950 Delaware Ave SE Bandon, OR 97411 United States Location Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Coos County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Coos County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Coos County
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Coo, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coos_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coos County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coos County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Coos County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coos_County,_Oregon, accessed 3 October 2018.
- "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.