To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cooper County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Boonville
Organized: December 17, 1818
Parent County(s): Howard[1]
Neighboring Counties
Boone  • Howard  • Moniteau  • Morgan  • Pettis  • Saline
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriCooperCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Cooper County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Sarshell Cooper, frontier settler who was killed by Native Americans near Arrow Rock in 1814. The County is located in the center area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cooper County Courthouse
200 Main Street
PO Box 123
Boonville, MO 65233-0123
Phone: 660-882-2626
Cooper County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893 and burial records.
Circuit Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and naturalization records from 1819, and land records from 1812.
Associate Circuit Court has probate records from 1828.[3]

Cooper County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1819 1883 1819 1812 1828 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1818 Cooper County was created 17 December 1818 from Howard County.
  • County seat: Boonville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Cooper County, Missouri:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cooper County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
St. Peter and Paul, Boonville

  • 1850-1876 St. Peter and Paul, Boonville, Baptism Index 1850-1876. Batch C511771 at FamilySearch.[6]
  • 1851-1876 St. Peter and Paul, Boonville, Marriage Index 1851-1857, 1867-1876. Batch M511771 at FamilySearch.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • A History of Cooper County, Missouri. By Levens and Drake. 1876. Available online at Google Books.
  • History of Cooper County, Missouri. By William Foreman Johnson. 1919. Topeka, Kansas : Historical Pub. Co. Available online at FamilySearch
  • History of Howard and Cooper Counties, Missouri. By National Historical Company. 1883. St. Louis : National Historical Co. Available online at FamilySearch
  • Melton's History of Cooper County, Missouri. By Elston Joseph Melton. 1987. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Available online at FamilySearch
  • Short Historical Sketches of Boonville and Vicinity. By J. B. Barnes. 1928. Boonville, Mo. : [Boonville Advertiser?]. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Saline CountyHoward CountyBoone CountyCole CountyMoniteau CountyMorgan CountyPettis CountyMO COOPER.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Cooper County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cooper County, Missouri:

- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company B
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company F
- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Cooper County:

  • June 17, 1861 Boonville[7] also known as First Battle of Boonville
  • Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Boonslick Historical Society Of Cooper And Howard Counties
    P.O. Box 324
    Boonville, MO 65233
  • Cooper County Historical Society & Research Center
    P.O. Box 51
    111 Roe Street
    Pilot Grove, MO 65276
    Phone: 660-834-3582
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Cooper, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cooper_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/06/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cooper County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cooper County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)