To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cookbury, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Cookbury, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cookbury, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Holsworthy
Registration District Holsworthy
Records begin
Parish registers: 1746; For more records see Milton Damerel
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holsworthy
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

COOKBURY (St. John The Baptist), a parish, in the union of Holsworthy, hundred of Black Torrington, Holsworthy and N. divisions of Devon, 4¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Holsworthy. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Cookbury St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FHOS = FHS Online - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
Cookbury St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FHOS 1608-1812
1608-1811


IGI 1609-1837
1609-1837 (gaps)


TGEN 1608-1812
1608-1811


Cookbury, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cookbury, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FHOS 1746-1944
1750-2009
1789-2008
TGEN 1746-1944
1750-2009


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Cookbury on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-682. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. 'Coverage for the Devon Parish Records database,' FHS Online, accessed 24 May 2012.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.