Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
To Do: Complete the template starting with Public transportation

United States go to Connecticut go to Hartford Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries go to Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library

Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library
Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  E-mail form

Address:[1]

175 Maple Street
East Hartford, Connecticut 06118-2634

Telephone:[1]  860-569-0002
Fax: 860-569-0339

Hours and holidays:[1]  Tuesday-Friday, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Map, directions, and public transportation:[2]  

Map:  Google map: Connecticut Society of Genealogists

Directions from Hartford and points north
• I-84 or I-91 to Route 2 East
• Exit 5C, down ramp then turn left at light
• Approximately 0.5 miles, brick building on right (set back from road)

Directions from Manchester and vicinity
• Silver Lane left on Forbes
• 2 miles to Maple Street on right
• 0.5 miles to brick building on left (set back from road)

Directions from Middletown and points south
• I-91 North to Exit 25 (Putnam Bridge / Route 3)
• Exit to Main Street, Glastonbury
• Turn LEFT at light, stay in left lane
• Turn LEFT again at next light onto Main Street
• Pass the Putnam Bridge Plaza about 0.5 miles
• Turn RIGHT at light onto Maple Street
• Approximately 0.5 miles, brick building on right (set back from road)

Public Transportation:

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

The library's holdings are not limited to Connecticut and include census records, tax lists, family histories, church records, local histories, and much more.[3]

Tips

{Optional}

Guides

{Optional: Internet or guide books describing this collection for genealogists. }

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • National Archives at Boston (that is Waltham), federal censuses, Ancestry.com, military, pensions, bounty land, photos, naturalizations, passenger arrival records for Boston and New England, and Canadian border crossings, Chinese immigration, Navy and maritime records.[4]
  • Connecticut State Library, Hartford, has the Barbour Collection, Bibles, census, church, Hale Collection newspaper marriages and deaths, manuscripts, books, cemeteries, probates, vital records, directories, land, local histories, maps, military, naturalization, passenger arrivals, and e-mail questions.[5] [6]

Similar Collections

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Contacting the Connecticut Society of Genealogists in Connecticut Society of Genealogists (accessed 21 September 2015).
  2. Directions to the CSG Library in Connecticut Society of Genealogists (accessed 21 September 2015).
  3. CSG Library Holdings in Connecticut Society of Genealogists (accessed 21 September 2015).
  4. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 124. WorldCat 39493985. FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  5. History and Genealogy Home in CT State Library (accessed 21 September 2015).
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 6.7 6.8 6.9 Dollarhide and Bremer, 25.
  7. Manuscripts in Mystic Seaport: the Museum of America and the Sea (accessed 20 September 2015).
  8. New Haven Museum and Historical Society in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 18 September 2015).
  9. Dollarhide and Bremer, 59.
  10. "New England Historic Genealogical Society" in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_England_Historic_Genealogical_Society (accessed 30 August 2010).
  11. Using the NEHGS Library in American Ancestors" (accessed 21 September 2015).
  12. Dollarhide and Bremer, 5, 57, and 59.
  13. Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy in New York Public Library (accessed 21 September 2015).
  14. Dollarhide and Bremer, 89.