|Connecticut Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Directories are alphabetical lists of names and addresses. City directories can help you learn where an ancestor lived. The person’s occupation is frequently given. Often the home address and business address are both mentioned. When a husband dies, many times the widow is listed as "widow of...."
Directories can help you determine which jurisdictional ward the family lived in if you are searching census records for a particular time period in a big city. Directories sometimes have maps and addresses of churches, cemeteries, courthouses, and other important locations.
Resources for Connecticut Directories[edit | edit source]
Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]
The Connecticut State Library, the New Haven Museum and Historical Society, the New England Historic Genealogical Society, the Library of Congress, and the American Antiquarian Society have useful collections of city directories.
Directories Online[edit | edit source]
Ancestry.com ($) has Connecticut directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
Directories from various sources can be located here: Connecticut City Directories
The Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Connecticut including:
|1799-1860||Family History Library fiche 6043938-76|
|1861-1935||Family History Library film 1376910—|
|1967, 1973, 1974-75||Family History Library book 974.62 E4p|
|1840-1861||Family History Library fiche 6044225-45|
|1861-1935||Family History Library film 1377137—|
|1938, 1968, etc.||Family History Library book 974.67 E4p|
To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- CONNECTICUT, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
- CONNECTICUT, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES
Websites[edit | edit source]
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.