Coniscliffe, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Coniscliffe, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
High Coniscliffe St Edwin Durham
|Poor Law Union||Darlington|
|Parish registers: 1590|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CONISCLIFFE (St. Edwin), a parish, in the union of Darlington, SE division of Darlington ward, S division of the county of Durham with the townships of Carlebury and Low Coniscliffe There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Additional information: Coniscliffe is an ancient parish and the church dedicated to St Edwin is a Norman church which underwent restoration in 1892. The parish on the banks of the River Tees includes High and Low Coniscliffe, Carlbury and Thornton Hall.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Coniscliffe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Coniscliffe Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Parish Registers for the period 1590-1979 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Co).
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/58 1762-1846 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Coniscliffe on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.