To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Reservation

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oregon Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Reservation

Guide to Umatilla, Walla Walla, and Cayuse Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Umatilla -Rattlesnake Pete from Umatilla Indian Reservation - Oregon.jpg

Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
46411 Timine Way
Pendleton, Oregon 97801

Phone: 1-541- 276-3165
FAX: 1-541- 276-3095

History[edit | edit source]

Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]

Reservations[edit | edit source]

These tribes are primarily associated with the Umatilla Reservation in Oregon.

Tribes on the Reservation[edit | edit source]

The Confederation consists of three tribes -- the Cayuse, Umatilla, and Walla Walla.

Records[edit | edit source]

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Important Websites[edit | edit source]

For Further Reading[edit | edit source]

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References[edit | edit source]