Concord New Hampshire Family History Center
Jump to navigation Jump to search
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
Center Information and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location Map: Location Map
Address: 90 Clinton St., Concord, NH 03301
- Enter on the west side of the building. There is a sign on the door indicating if the center is open or closed. After entering the building, the Family History Center is down the hallway to the left on the left side.
Open Hours:[edit | edit source]
Our center is closed until further notice due to concerns related to the Coronavirus disease (COVID-19).
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- 5 computers connected to the Internet and to the FHC Portal
- 1 printer/copier/scanner which can scan photos directly to FamilySearch or to USB drive
- 2 microfilm readers, one can also read microfiche and is connected to a computer and printer for copies
- Wi-Fi Internet access is available
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
- 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
- Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War, Research Database, Letters and Diaries, Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera Social and cultural History, Women and Social Movements in the United States
- American Ancestors - Library Rights
- Ancestry - Institution Versions: U.S. | Australia | Canada | Germany | Sweden | United Kingdom
- ArkivDigital - If necessary, select "English" from the language drop-down menu in the upper-right corner of the page.
- Findmypast - Institution Version
- The Genealogist - Gold-Level Subscription
- Kinpoint - Premium
- MyHeritage - Library Edition
- Paper Trail
- Puzzilla - Premium Services
Collections[edit | edit source]
- Patrons' Microfilm Collection - a collection of microfilms ordered by our patrons, assorted titles. Contain family histories, vital records, and other types of information.
- Notice about Family History Microfilm Discontinuation - On September 8, 2017, FamilySearch discontinued its microfilm distribution services. Read more: Digital Records Access Replacing Microfilm - After film ordering ends, if customers need access to a particular film yet to be digitized, they can express interest to have it added to the priority digitization list by contacting FamilySearch Support (Toll Free: 1-866-406-1830).
Research and Learning Links[edit | edit source]
- Getting Started with Family History - Here are the main things you need to know as you get started.
- Introduction to Family History Centers - This article explains the purpose of Family History Centers and what to expect when visiting a Family History Center.
- FamilySearch Research Wiki: What It Can Do For You! - A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research. Editing and adding articles to the Wiki are covered. (Video length is 47:11 minutes).
- FamilySearch Online Genealogy Records by Location - Online Genealogy Records Wiki pages contain links to online records for different states, provinces, or countries. These online records may include birth records, marriage records, death records, biographies, cemeteries, censuses, church records, histories, immigration records, land records, maps, military records, native races, naturalizations, newspapers, obituaries, or probate records.
- Helping Others Get Started with Family History - This course is designed for consultants, helpers and anyone who wants to learn more about doing family history research. The research process is the key to successful and accurate family history work. In this lesson, we will introduce the first step in the research process.
New Hampshire Research Links[edit | edit source]
- New Hampshire Genealogy - FamilySearch guide to New Hampshire ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- New Hampshire Search Strategies - This set of Wiki pages describes major sources of information about families from New Hampshire, including census, vital, cemetery, probate, land, tax, town, church, and military records for most of the towns and family and local histories.
- New Hampshire Online Genealogy Records - This is collection of links to New Hampshire statewide databases and collections.
- New England Historical Genealogical Register Online - Published volumes of The New England Historical and Genealogical Register are now available on the Internet.
- Cyndi's List - New Hampshire genealogy information, links, and resources.
Research Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]
- New Hampshire State Library - Genealogy and NH History - The New Hampshire State Library houses approximately 2400 titles of published family histories for New Hampshire and New England. This collection is enhanced by the unique name index to early town records on microfilm (sometimes referred to as the "Sargent" Name Index). The town records, ranging in years for each town but falling roughly between the years 1640 to 1830/40, can provide birth and marriage dates, as well as listings of such items as tax inventories.
- New Hampshire Historical Society Library - New Hampshire Historical Society has extensive book, photographic print, and microfilm collections.
- New Hampshire State Archives - The New Hampshire State Archives houses many useful resources for genealogy research. Among their holdings are Probate Records, Land Title Deeds, Military Records, Census Records, Photographs, Portraits, and Prints, Naturalization Records, Voter Checklists, Prisoner Indices, Marriage Records, Paupers Indices, Court Records, and a lot more.