Columbia County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Columbia County

Guide to Columbia County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Evans
Organized: December 10, 1790
Parent County(s): Richmond[1]
Neighboring Counties
Aiken (SC)  • Edgefield (SC)  • Lincoln  • McCormick (SC)  • McDuffie  • Richmond
See County Maps
Courthouse
Columbia County, Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Columbia County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Walter Christopher Columbus. The County is located in the central east area of the state.[2] T

County Courthouse

Columbia County Courthouse
630 Ronald Reagan Dr.
Evans, GA 30809
Phone: 706-868-3376
Columbia County Website

Clerk of Court has land records from 1700s, court records from 1900s, and divorce records from 1945.
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.[3]

Columbia County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1787 1919 1900s 1700s 1790 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[5]

Boundary Changes

  • 1790 Columbia County was created 10 December 1790 from Richmond County.
  • County seat: Evans[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

Columbia County is included in the Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC Metropolitan Statistical Area. It is located along the Savannah River.

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Kiokee
  • Lake Royal
  • Lewiston
  • Maddox
  • Maple Creek
  • Rosemont
  • Snead
  • Woodbridge
Census-designated places

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Columbia, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Columbia County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Church of the Heavenly Rest, Grovetown

  • 1887-1895 Church of the Heavenly Rest, Grovetown, Baptism Index 1887-1895. Batch C712591 at FamilySearch[8]

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Columbia County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

McCormick CountyEdgefield CountyAiken CountyRichmond CountyMcDuffie CountyTo request editing rights on the Wiki, click here. Lincoln CountyGA COLUMBIA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Columbia County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Columbia County:

-10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F
- 16th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K


  • Georgia. 1961. Confederate pension records, 1890-1913. Atlanta [Georgia]: Georgia Department of Archives and History. Film 847842 item2
  • Georgia. 1967. Confederate pension rolls, 1920-1933. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 515964 item1
  • Hageness, MariLee Beatty. 1995. Military rosters 27 March 1793: Columbia County, Georgia. [Anniston, Ala.]: M.B. Hageness. 975.8635 M2h also Film 2055469 item 5


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Marriage Bonds

  • 1787-1805 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books L and M Index 1787-1805. Batch M712576 at FamilySearch[9]
  • 1787-1805 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books M thru R Index 1787-1805. Batch M712577 at FamilySearch[10]
  • 1787-1805 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books R thru T Index 1787-1805. Batch M712578 at FamilySearch[11]
  • 1787-1930 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books B thru D Index 1787-1930. Batch M712572 at FamilySearch[12]
  • 1787-1935 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books D thru G Index 1787-1935. Batch M712573 at FamilySearch[13]
  • 1787-1935 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books G thru I Index 1787-1935. Batch M712574 at FamilySearch[14]
  • 1791-1934 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books A and B Index 1791-1934. Batch M712571 at FamilySearch[15]
  • 1791-1934 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books W thru Z Index 1791-1934. Batch M712581 at FamilySearch[16]
  • 1846-1937 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books I thru L Index 1846-1937. Batch M712575 at FamilySearch[17]
  • 1856-1935 Columbia County Marriage Bonds Books T thru W Index 1856-1935. Batch M712579 at FamilySearch[18]

Marriage Registers

  • 1806-1852 Columbia County Marriage Registers A and B Index 1806-1852. Batch M712582 at FamilySearch[19]
  • 1852-1873 Columbia County Marriage Register C Index 1852-1873. Batch M712583 at FamilySearch[20]
  • 1866-1905 Columbia County Marriage Registers A and B Index 1874-1905. Batch M712561 at FamilySearch[21]
  • 1871-1888 Columbia County Marriage Register D Index 1871-1888. Batch M712584 at FamilySearch[22]
  • 1887-1895 Columbia County Marriage Registers E and F Index 1887-1895. Batch M712585 at FamilySearch[23]

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Columbia County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 203
    Appling, GA 30802
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Columbia County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Columbia_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Columbia County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 24. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Columbia County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Columbia_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 6 Febuary 2019.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  14. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  15. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  16. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  17. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  18. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  19. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  20. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  21. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  22. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  23. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.