Colston Bassett, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Colston Bassett, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Colston Bassett, Nottinghamshire|
Colston Bassett St John the Divine Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1591; Separate registers exist for Colston Bassett St John the Divine beginning 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
COLSTON-BASSET (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Bingham and of the county of Nottingham, 10 miles (S. E. by E.) from Nottingham. There are places of worship for Roman Catholics and Methodists.
Colston Bassett is an Ancient Parish; the Church of St John the Divine which dates from 1892 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Colston Bassett has two churches; the ruined church of St Mary is some way distant from St John the Divine. The headsones in the burial ground at St Mary's ruined church have been designated as Ancient monuments by English Heritage.
The burial ground is at St Mary's; St John the Divine was completed in 1892 in memory of the death of the wife of Robert Millington Knowle, owner of the Hall.
See also Colston Bassett Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Colston Bassett parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Colston Bassett Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.