Colston Bassett, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Colston Bassett, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Colston Bassett, Nottinghamshire
Colston Bassett St John the Divine Nottinghamshire.jpg
Colston Bassett St John the Divine Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591; Separate registers exist for Colston Bassett St John the Divine beginning 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

COLSTON-BASSET (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Bingham and of the county of Nottingham, 10 miles (S. E. by E.) from Nottingham. There are places of worship for Roman Catholics and Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Colston Bassett is an Ancient Parish; the Church of St John the Divine which dates from 1892 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Colston Bassett has two churches; the ruined church of St Mary is some way distant from St John the Divine. The headsones in the burial ground at St Mary's ruined church have been designated as Ancient monuments by English Heritage.

The burial ground is at St Mary's; St John the Divine was completed in 1892 in memory of the death of the wife of Robert Millington Knowle, owner of the Hall.

Colston Bassett ruins of St Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
See also Colston Bassett Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Colston Bassett, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
COLSTON BASSETT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
PALL
1591-1837



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Colston Bassett

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Colston Bassett in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.