Colquitt County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Colquitt County

Guide to Colquitt County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Colquitt County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Colquitt County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded February 25, 1856
County Seat Moultrie
Address Colquitt County Courthouse
1220 S Main Street
PO box 517
Moultrie, GA 31768
Phone: 912.891.7400
Colquitt County Website

County Information

Colquitt County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Colquitt County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



County Courthouse

Colquitt County Georgia Courthouse.jpg

Colquitt County Courthouse
1220 S Main Street
PO box 517
Moultrie, GA 31768
Phone: 912.891.7400
Colquitt County Courthouse

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
9 Main Street, Room 214
P.O. Box 2827 (31776
Moultrie, GA 31768
Phone: (229) 616-7420

Probate Court of Colquitt County
P.O. Box 264
Moultrie, GA 31776
Phone:(229) 616-7415


Parent County

1856--Colquitt County was created 25 February 1856 from Lowndes and Thomas Counties.
County seat:  Moultrie [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1881. The courthouse at Moultrie burned 25 February 1881. Almost all county records were lost.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Brooks  • Cook  • Mitchell  • Thomas  • Tift  • Worth

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Cemeteries of Colquitt, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Colquitt County cemeteries.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Colquitt County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Covington, W. A. History of Colquitt County. Atlanta, Ga.: Foote and Davies Co., 1937. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Local Histories




  • Georgia Military - USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Colquitt County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Colquitt County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 50th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

  • Odom, Ellen Payne, and Nell Arnold Gammage. 1980. Confederate soldiers in Colquitt County, Georgia. Moultrie, Ga: Moultrie McNeill Chapter No. 661, United Daughters of the Confederacy. (Entire Book) 975.8975 M2o also film 1685767 item 10



Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Colquitt County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Voter Records

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Colquitt County Historical Society
204 Fifth St, S.E.
Moultrie 31776

Colquitt County Historical Society, Incorporated
P O Box 1961
Moultrie, GA 31776

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Colquitt County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 23-24. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at