Colorado County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Colorado County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Colorado County

Guide to Colorado County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Colorado County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Colorado County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 17, 1836
County Seat Columbus
Courthouse
TexasColoradoCourthouse.jpg
Address Colorado County Courthouse
PO Box 68
Columbus, TX 78934
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information


County Courthouse

Colorado County Courthouse
PO Box 68
Columbus, TX 78934
Phone: 979.732.2155

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and probate records from 1837 and land 
records District Clerk has divorce and court records[1]

County Clerk

400 Spring Street, Rm 103
Columbus 78934
Phone: 979-732-6561


District Clerk

400 Spring Street, Rm 210 E
Columbus 78934
Phone: 979-732-2536

Colorado County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1837 1850 1824 1837


History

Parent County

1836--Colorado County was created on 17 March 1836 from an Old Mexican Municipality.

  • County seat: Columbus [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Austin  • Fayette  • Jackson  • Lavaca  • Wharton

Fayette CountyColorado CountyAustin CountyLavaca CountyWharton CountyJackson CountyTX Colorado.JPG
About this image

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
TX Gravestones WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) Linkpendium
TXGenWeb Cemeteries Epodunk
Names in Stone
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Sources

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18502,257
18607,885249.4%
18708,3265.6%
188016,673100.3%
189019,51217.0%
190022,20313.8%
191018,897−14.9%
192019,0130.6%
193019,1290.6%
194017,812−6.9%
195017,576−1.3%
196018,4635.0%
197017,638−4.5%
198018,8236.7%
199018,383−2.3%
200020,39010.9%
201020,8742.4%


Church

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Naturalization and Citizenship

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Colorado County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Maps

Txcolorado.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War

Online Records

World War I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Colorado County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
  • Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
  • Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
  • The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
  • Nebitt Memorial Library - Online, FREE searchable archive of select newspapers in Colorado County
  • 1857-1980 Colorado Citizen
  • 1885-1888 Weimar Gimlet
  • 1887 Weimar Daily Informer
  • 1887-1888 Weimar Daily Gimlet
  • 1889-1980 Weimar Mercury
  • 1898 Daily Tribune
  • 1902-1915 Mercury

Obituaries

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records


Divorce

Societies and Libraries

  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Colorado County, Texas. Page 661 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).