Colorado, United States Genealogy
Guide to Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Colorado Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
This article is about the state. For other uses, see Colorado (disambiguation).
Colorado Information[edit | edit source]
Colorado became the thirty-eighth state admitted to the Union in August 1, 1876. Colorado was created from Colorado Territory and is located in the western region of the United States. The capital is Denver and there are 64 counties
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Colorado Research
Links to articles on getting started with Colorado research.
Colorado Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Colorado research.
Colorado Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
- Clear Creek
- El Paso
- Kit Carson
- La Plata
- Las Animas
- Rio Blanco
- Rio Grande
- San Juan
- San Miguel
Extinct or Renamed Counties: Arapahoe (KS) | Broderick (KS) | Carbonate | El Paso (KS) | Fremont (KS) | Greenwood | Guadalupe | Montana (KS) | Mora (NM) | North Park | Oro (KS) | Peketon (KS) | Taos (NM) | Uncompahgre | Washington (KS old)
Colorado Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Colorado genealogy sites on the internet
- Colorado Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of Colorado
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Colorado
- The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for Colorado genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Colorado
- Colorado Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado (accessed 15 March 2016).