To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Colmer, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Colmer, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Colmer, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Colmer, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Meon
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Petersfield
Registration District Petersfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1714
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Colemore like this:

COLEMORE, or Colmer, a parish in Petersfield district, Hants; near Wolmere forest, 5¼ miles S by W of Alton r. station. Post town, Newton-Vallance, under Alton.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Colmer, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
COLMER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1563-1879
1563-1875

PALL
1800-1837

PRTS 1563-1975
1565-1967
1563-1975


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 18 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

FamilySearch