Coleshill, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Coleshill
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Coleshill

Guide to Coleshill, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Coleshill, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shrivenham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

COLESHILL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Farringdon, partly in the hundred of Highworth, Cricklade, and Staple, N. division of Wilts, but chiefly in the hundred of Shrivenham, county of Berks, 4 miles (W. S. W.) from Farringdon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Coleshill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Coleshill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1782-1812
1797-1812
1560-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1558-1721, 1722-1812, 1813-1879
1561-1728, 1561-1812, 1813-1874


FS Catalog PRs
1557-1907
1557-1907
1557-1907
FS Catalog BTs
1607-1835
1607-1835
1607-1835

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Coleshill in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 659-663. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk