Cole County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Cole County

Guide to genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Cole County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting Cole County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 16, 1820
County Seat Jefferson City
Courthouse
MissouriColeCourthouse.jpg
Address Cole County Courthouse
01 E High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: 573.634.9106
Cole County Website



County Information

Cole County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1821 1883 1830 1821 1834

County Courthouse


Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1821; Probate Judge has probate records from 1821; Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records from 1821.[2]

History

Parent County

1820 Cole County was created 16 November 1820 from Cooper County. County seat: Jefferson City [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Moniteau County • Miller County • Maries County • Osage County • Callaway County • Boon County

Cole CountyOsage CountyGasconade CountyAudrain CountyMontgomery CountyCallaway CountyBoone CountyRandolph CountyHoward CountyMoniteau CountyCooper CountySaline CountyChariton CountyMiller CountyCamden CountyMorgan CountyBenton CountyPettis CountyPhelps CountyCrawford CountyMaries CountyLaclede CountyPulaski CountyDent CountyDallas CountyHickory CountyPolk CountyMOCole.jpg

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


To see a list of places in Cole County, click on [Show], in the bar above.

The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical place names for all Counties.

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Cole County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • St. Paul Lutheran Church, Lohman, records in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cole County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Cole, Moniteau, Morgan, Benton, Miller, Maries and Osage counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present, including a department devoted to the preservation of sundry personal, business, professional and private records, besides a valuable fund of notes, original observations, etc., etc. Chicago : Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1889.

Maps

Mocole.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Cole County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cole County, Missouri:
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- Richardson Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia, 6 months (Union), Company I
- Richardson Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia, 6 months (Union), Company K
- Richardson Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia, 6 months (Union), Company ?
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 42nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company D
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company E
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- Richardson Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia, 6 months (Union), Company A

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cole County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Jefferson City newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on Cole County residents as well as residents from surrounding counties.
Chronicling America a list of 1836 to 1922 Cole County newspapers with their descriptions and where they are held
The State Historical Society of Missouri digitized newspapers from Cole County - you must sort by Cole County

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

  • Cole County Historical Society
    109 Madison Street
    Jefferson City, MO 65101
    Phone: 573-635-1850
    Website

Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cole County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cole County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Cole Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Cole County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cole County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Cole County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, : Everton Pub., 2002), Cole County, . Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, :Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of , Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.