To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cogenhoe, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Cogenhoe, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cogenhoe, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wymersley
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Hardingstone
Registration District Hardingstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1708
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Preston
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

COGENHOE, or Cucknoe (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Hardingstone, hundred of Wymmersley, S. division of the county of Northampton, 5¼ miles (E.) from Northampton. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Cogenhoe, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Cogenhoe, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1891 1813-1891
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1661-1886 1661-1888 1661-1942

Marriages from 1560 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Smart, Anna.  The Cogenhoe Choir Revisited.  "Ave Atque Vale" and the Atterbury family.  history and family names of John Atterebury and Elizabeth nee Lord (Attabury, Attenbury, spelling), with the following surnames of the extented family.  Luckett, Ingram, Waples, Redley, Bedford, Tarry, Smith, Billingham, and Luckett. Article dated 1773-1905, and is in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.21.pt1, August 1999, pages 36-39.  Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol. 21.no.1

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed 31 December 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.