Cockley Cley, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Cockley Cley, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cockley Cley, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Swaffham|
|Parish registers: 1731|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
COCKLEY-CLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Swaffham, hundred of South Greenhoe, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (S. W. by S.) from Swaffham. 
Cockley Cley All Saints is an ancient parish. All Saints was once a round towered church, but on 29th August 1991 the tower collapsed. The church was extensively remodelled in the 1860's by the architect Phipson. It includes the ruined Norman chapel of St Mary and an earlier church dedicated to St Philip had also occupied the site.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Cockley Cley, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Cockley Cley, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 137/1-5
Two parishes have been "swapped" in Record Search image collection the banns books and banns/marriage registers for Cockley Cley and Oxburgh are viewable but not in the correct parish. If examined closely they are identified as Oxburgh and "Cley" on record covers.
The images await engineering to correct this situation.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Fysh, JPG and AVGA. Goodbye, Norfolk, I Must Leave You. A basic family tree of Thomas Fysh of Cockley Cley and Ann ? Howes. The family move around to Kings Lynn, London, South Africa - Capetown, Canada - Ontario, Brantford, and Australia, with 2 Fysh going to Tasmania, and one to the mainland, Australia. Sir William Hudson Fysh was the ancestor who founded the airline, Qantas, Sir Philip Oakley Fysh was Prime Minister of Tasmania. Article dates from 1742-1930, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol.3pt.7, page 94-96, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.3,pt7
Poor Law Unions
For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Swaffham/Swaffham.shtml
- Norfolk: Cockley Cley on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-659. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.