Cochrane Alberta Family History Centre

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Centre, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Centre Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location & Map:


Address

  • 1100 Gleneagles Dr.  Cochrane, AB  T4C 2J9  Canada (West Entrance)
  • Location on Map

Phone:1 403-932-1145

E-mail: AB_Cochrane@familyhistorymail.org (only checked once a week on Sundays)

Open Hours:

Cochrane Family History Centre accessible via the West entrance to the chapel.

  • Tuesday:   12 noon - 3:00 pm
  • Tuesday and Thursday:    7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Holiday Schedule: closed for the summer July 1 through September 2. Reopens Tuesday, September 3.



Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]

Class Schedule:[edit | edit source]

Classes will be held at the Cochrane Alberta Family History Centre - West Entrance of the Church at 1100 Gleneagles Dr Cochrane Alberta T4C 2J9

AND at the Cochrane Public Library - please read class description to determine which location to attend.

Cost: Free

Registration: 403-932-1145 - please leave your name, phone number and the topic/section you are interesting in attending. We encourage you to attend all weeks of a specific topic, but we also welcome drop-ins week by week.

Laptop computers welcome, wifi available at Family History Centre

No classes are scheduled at this time.

Temple and Family History Leadership and Consultant Training Meetings:[edit | edit source]

Fall 2019 Royal Oak Building 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Centre Resources - Available to use for free at the Cochrane Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Collection[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This centre has the ability to view, for free, digitized versions of many of the records available through the FamilyHistory Library Catalog. All microfilm currently stored in the Granite Mountain Vault in Salt Lake City is expected to be converted to digital and available for viewing at local Family History Centres by the end of 2020. Billions of records have already been converted to digital format.

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

  • FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
  • The 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archivehttp://find.galegroup.com/bncn/ This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.
  • Access Newspaper Archiveshttp://www.newspaperarchive.com "NewspaperArchive.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old—including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more—to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at Our NewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable. Try exploring above, and discover your history today!"
  • Alexander Street Press, American Civil War—http://alexanderstreet.com/
    • Research Data: Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/cwdb/
    • Letters and Diaries: Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. http://solomon.cwld.alexanderstreet.com/
    • Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera: Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images. http://cpho.alexanderstreet.com/
    • Social and Cultural History: Personal accounts of well-known historical figures.
    • Women and Social Movements in the United States: Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000 A.D.
  • American Ancestorshttp://www.americanancestors.org/ Advance your family history research today with AmericanAncestors.org! Created by the expert staff at New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS), America's founding genealogical organization, AmericanAncestors.org is the portal to the nation's leading resource for the highest-quality comprehensive family history services. Consult with our expert staff, some of the most respected genealogists in the profession. Read the most significant original scholarship and important publications in genealogy. Access millions of exclusive and sought-after records online. Learn with in-depth online courses and webinars from expert staff. Explore the largest collection of original family history research materials in America.
  • Ancestry.comhttp://www.ancestry.com/ Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.
  • ArkivDigital Online - ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents. Click the link from the Premium Family History Websites page to install the current client version of ArkivDigital Online.
  • Findmypasthttp://www.findmypast.co.uk/ findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from findmypast is available in family history centers.
    • 1911 British Census (accessed through the findmypast website)—The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time.
  • Fold3 (formerly Footnote.com)–http://www.fold3.com/ Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.
  • Geneanet--http://geneanet.org With 3 billion referenced individuals and 600,000 trees online, Geneanet is the first site dedicated to genealogy in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Sweden, and Germany. The Geneanet community has two million members who exchange genealogical information.
  • The Genealogist—http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk  This resource, available in centers in the U.K. only, contain English parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping, and selected army and navy lists. This site is now available only in the United Kingdom. It is NOT available anywhere else.
  • ​Kinpoint Premiumhttps://kinpoint.com Kinpoint is designed to make it easier for you to do your family history by letting you see what to work on at a glance; quickly find missing information in your family tree; and discover insights into the lives of your ancestors.
  • ​ProQuest Obituary Listingshttp://obituaries.proquest.com/obitsweb/obits/do/home The ProQuest obituaries collection is a premier resource for genealogical and historical research. You can use the collection to search obituaries and death notices from prominent newspapers, such as the New York Times (dating back to 1851). The collection includes both famous and lesser-known individuals and can be searched by name or by keywords appearing in the body of the article.
  • Puzzilla—https://puzzilla.org Premium Services. Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in Family Tree.
  • World Vital Recordshttps://www.worldvitalrecords.com/ The link to World Vital Records currently redirects to MyHeritage.com. In the near future, World Vital Records will be removed from the Portal. (Updated 15 July 2016)

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

  • The centre has several computers available to enable visitors to undertake on-line research as well as three microfilm and one microfiche reader. We have printing facilities for the computers but not for the readers although what patrons do is use their phone cameras to record the image on the screen and this works just as well and has the advantage of giving you a digital record of the screen. Our printer / scanner will enable you to upload your family photographs into your family tree on Family Search.

Free Genealogy and Family History Training Opportunities[edit | edit source]

Family History Library in Salt Lake City[edit | edit source]

Free classes offered throughout the month.  Live in Salt Lake City and live broadcast for free for anyone to attend remotely.  All classes are recorded and most are then stored in the archives to be viewed/reviewed at any time in the future.

https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Family_History_Library

BYU Family History Library Classes[edit | edit source]

Free classes offered throughout the month.  Live from the Family History Centre at BYU and live broadcast for free for anyone to attend remotely.  All classes are recorded and most are then published to YouTube to be viewed/reviewed at any time in the future.

https://sites.lib.byu.edu/familyhistory/classes-and-webinars/

Southern California Genealogical Society Webinar Series[edit | edit source]

The online webinars are free, but you must register ahead of time.

http://www.scgsgenealogy.com/webinar/jes-index.html

Cochrane Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Cochrane_Alberta_Family_History_Centre

Your favourite places to research also have training. Examples include:[edit | edit source]

FindMyPast[edit | edit source]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liz51u4gGFc&utm_source=fmp&utm_medium=email&utm_content=1039894-A-29-C&utm_campaign=news&utm_term=FMP-CAM-Newsletter-251017-UK+-+S

MyHeritage[edit | edit source]

https://blog.myheritage.com/2017/10/tune-in-to-our-one-day-genealogy-seminar/

Books:[edit | edit source]

Libraries Public, University, Government

Google Books/Newspapers

Internet Archive -http://upfront.ngsgenealogy.org/2017/10/did-you-know-that-you-can-borrow-books.html

Centre Services[edit | edit source]

Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]


Resources in the Local Area https://familysearch.org/partneraccess[edit | edit source]


Volunteer at the Centre[edit | edit source]

If you are interested in sharing your genealogy or family history knowledge and research skills, please contact the Centre Director, Deanna Bullock at 780-777-4222