To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cochabamba Department, Bolivia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bolivia Wiki Topics
Flag of Bolivia (state).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bolivia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Cochabamba Department family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Department of Cochabamba

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


History[edit | edit source]

  • The area got its name, from Quechua Kochaj-pampa, as part of the Inca civilization. The area was conquered by Topa Inca Yupanqui who ruled from 1471 to 1493. His son Huayna Capac converted Cochabamba into a large production enclave or state farm to serve the Incas.
  • In 1786, King Carlos III of Spain changed the name of the city to Villa de Cochabamba.
  • In 1812, Cochabamba was the site of a riot against the Spanish army. On May 27, thousands of women took up arms against the Spaniards. To celebrate this event, Bolivia now marks May 27 as Mother's Day.
  • The department of Cochabamba has a population of approximately 1,930,000 people. [1]

Provinces[edit | edit source]

AyopayaQuillacolloCercado (Cochabamba)Germán JordánPunataTapacaríArqueBolívarCapinotaEsteban ArzeAraniMizqueCamperoJosé CarrascoTiraqueChapareCochabamba Department Map.png
About this image

Online Records[edit | edit source]


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento de Cochabamba," in Wikipedia: The free encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_de_Cochabamba. Visited April 1, 2018.