Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Cobb County

Guide to Cobb County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Marietta
Organized: December 3, 1832
Parent County(s): Cherokee[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bartow  • Cherokee  • Douglas  • Fulton  • Paulding
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cobb County Government Center, Marietta, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Cobb County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Thomas W. Cobb. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Cobb County Courthouse
100 Cherokee Street
Marietta, GA 30060
Phone: 770-528-3300
Cobb County Website

Probate Court has marriage, death and probate records from 1865.
Clerk Superior Court has land and divorce records.
Magistrate Court has court records.[3]

Cobb County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1865 1865 1865 1865 1840

Record Loss

1864 During the American Civil War, many courthouse records were destroyed.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1832 Cobb County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County.
  • County seat: Marietta[5]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Cobb County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Cobb, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Cobb County cemeteries.

  • Interment.net Georgia cemetery records
  • The Marietta National Cemetery by Findagrave.com is the grave site for 10,172 officers and soldiers who died in defense of the Union 1861 to 1865. This site has the photos of headstones at the graves.
  • Marietta, Georgia, Marietta National Cemetery, 1866-2010. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • Mars Hill Presbyterian Church Registry, Acworth, Georgia, 1837-1874 Georgia Pioneers ($)

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

The Brantley Association of America Project has digitized and indexed many records from the Cobb County Courthouse including:

  • Marriage Records, 1865-1
  • Homestead Book, 1866-1
  • Estate Records, 1866-1
  • Wills, 1866-1
  • Minute Books, 1865-1
  • Minute Book A, 1865-1871 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • Confederate Pensions, 1891-1

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

  • 1874-1943 Cobb County Colored Marriage Licenses and Old Affidavits Index 1874-1943. Batch M002535 at FamilySearch
  • 1879-1905 Cobb County Colored Marriage Books A thru C Index 1879-1905. Batch M002533 at FamilySearch
  • 1905-1935 Cobb County Colored Marriage Books C thru E Index 1905-1935. Batch M002534 at FamilySearch

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Gacobb.jpg

Migration

Military Records

War.jpg

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Cobb County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cobb County:

-7th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies D, H, and I
-18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies F and H
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies B and C
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F


  • Confederate pensioners of Cobb County, Georgia. 1989. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.1655003 item 6
  • Temple, Sarah Blackwell Gober. 1935. The first hundred years; a short history of Cobb county, in Georgia. Atlanta: Walter W. Brown Pub. Co. (chapter 16-24) 975.8245 H2t also digital version

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Cobb County.

World War II


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Cobb Landmarks and Historical Society
    P.O. Box 1432
    Marietta, GA 30061
    Website
  • Cobb County Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 1413
    Marietta, GA, 30061-1413
    Website
  • Northeast Cobb Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 1413
    Marietta, GA 30061

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Cobb County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cobb_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 21-22. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.