Coates, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Coates, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Whittlesey|
|Parish registers: 1850|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1855|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
COATES, a chapelry in Whittlesey-St. Mary parish, Cambridge; adjacent to the Peterborough and Ely railway, 1½ mile NE of Eastrea railway station, and 3 E by N of Whittlesey. It was constituted in 1850; and it has a post office under Peterborough. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Coates parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Coates Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Note that the film number is for Whittlesly as this parish was formed from this area.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Courtesy of The Royal British Legion
Coates and Eastrea on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and WalesDate accessed and adapted: 01 July 2013.