Coahoma County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Coahoma County, Mississippi)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Coahoma County

Guide to Coahoma County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Clarksdale
Organized: 9 February 1836
Parent County(s): Chickasaw Cession. [1]
Neighboring Counties
Bolivar  • Desha (AR)  • Phillips (AR)  • Quitman  • Sunflower  • Tallahatchie  • Tunica
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiCoahomaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Mississippi highlighting Coahoma County svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for "Coahoma" which is a Choctaw word meaning "red panther." The County has Clarksdale as its seat and the County was created 9 February, 1836. The county is located in the northwest area of the state. Clarksdale, the county seat, was named in honor of founder and resident John Clark, brother-in-law of politician James Lusk Alcorn who served as governor of Mississippi and U.S. Senator.[2]

County Courthouse

Coahoma County Courthouse
115 1st Street
P.O. Box 98
Clarksdale, MS 38614
Phone: 662-624-3000
Coahoma County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and court records from 1848 and voter records from 1949.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records.[3]

Coahoma County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1849 1839 1840

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1836 Coahoma County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
  • County seat: Clarksdale[4]
  • 1877 Quitman County was formed from part of Coahoma County in 1877.

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Coahoma County, Mississippi:

  • Clarksdale
  • Coahoma
  • Friars Point (former county seat)
  • Jonestown
  • Lula
  • Lyon

See also:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Coahoma County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Coahoma County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

General

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

The County Clerk of the Circuit Court in Clarksdale has court records from 1839.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

The Chancery Court Clerk for Coahoma County, in Clarksdale, has land records from 1839.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Coahoma County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

  • Catchings, Troy, and Homer Hill. An Oral History with Mr. Troy Catchings, 1994 March 15. Mississippi Oral History Program of the University of Southern Mississippi (series), Vol. 659 (archival manuscript). WorldCat page
  • Coahoma County Memories: A Pictorial History. Clarksdale, MS: Clarksdale Press Register, 1999. WorldCat page
  • Howerton, Joe D. The Howerton Family in Coahoma County, 1837-1850. Corpus Christi, TX: Philip Howerton, [1934?]. WorldCat page
  • Keys, Vernon J., and Homer Hill. An Oral History with Ms. Vernon J. Keys, 1994 March 19. Mississippi Oral History Program of the University of Southern Mississippi (series), Vol. 662 (archival manuscript). WorldCat page
  • Murray, Nicholas Russell. Coahoma County, Mississippi, 1868-1900. Hammond, LA: Hunting for Bears, [1982?]. WorldCat page
  • Weaver-Zercher, David L., and William H. Willimon, eds. Vital Christianity: Spirituality, Justice, and Christian Practice. New York: T&T Clark, 2005, section titled "The Legacy of Economic Unrighteousness in the Mississippi Delta" (specifically about Coahoma County), pp. 217-224. Google Books preview
  • Weeks, Linton. Clarksdale & Coahoma County: A History. Clarksdale, MS: Carnegie Public Library, 1982. Amazon page | Family History Library | Google Books page | WorldCat page
  • Work, John W., Lewis Wade Jones, and Samuel C. Adams, Jr. Lost Delta Found: Rediscovering the Fisk University-Library of Congress Coahoma County Study, 1941-1942. Nashville: Vanderbilt University Press, 2005. Amazon page | WorldCat page

Maps and Gazetteers

Phillips CountyTunica CountyQuitman CountyTallahatchie CountySunflower CountyBolivar CountyMS COAHOMA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Companies formed in Coahoma County:

  • Company B (Coahoma Invincibles), 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
  • Company B (Mississippi Swampers), 44th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
  • Company K (Alcorn Rebels), 23rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry

Civil War links:

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Clarksdale Banner, established 1884 or 1888 (sources differ), ceased publication in 20th century
  • Clarksdale Challenge, established 1896, ceased publication in 20th century
  • Clarksdale Journal, an African-American newspaper established 1899
  • The Clarksdale Press-Register (currently in operation)
  • Clarksdale Register, established 1902 or 1904 (sources differ)
  • Coahoma County, MS Newspaper Titles (Chronicling America at the Library of Congress)
  • Newspaper Data (Genealogy Trails)
  • Newspaper Scrapbooks and Mississippi River Collection of Carnegie Public Library, Clarksdale, Mississippi, on 3 microfilm reels at the Family History Library

Obituaries

  • Index, Obituary Scrapbook, Carnegie Public Library, Clarksdale, Mississippi (manuscript, 4 vols., 1914-1977) at Family History Library

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Coahoma County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Coahoma County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

The Chancery Court Clerk for Coahoma County in Clarksdale has probate records dating from 1856.

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

The County Clerk of the Circuit Court in Clarksdale has marriage records from 1849.

Death

Divorce

  • 1850-1950 Estate and divorce files (mixed together), Coahoma County, Mississippi, 1850-1950 FHL Collection (76 microfilm reels)

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Carnegie Public Library
    114 Delta Avenue
    Clarksdale, MS 38614
    Website

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Coahoma, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coahoma_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.