Clyst Honiton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Clyst Honiton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Clyst Honiton, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||St Thomas|
|Registration District||St Thomas|
|Parish registers: 1683|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CLIST-HONITON, a parish in St. Thomas district, Devon; on the river Clist, and on the Yeovil and Exeter railway, 1 mile WSW of Broad-Clist railway station, and 4 ENE of Exeter. Post town, Broad-Clist, under Exeter. The church is a fine old edifice of nave, chancel, and north aisle, with lofty western tower; and has a very ancient font.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Clyst Honiton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Clyst Honiton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Clyst Honiton on GENUKI