Clowne, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Clowne, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Clowne St John the Baptist Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Clowne or CLOWN (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Worksop, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 9 miles (E. N. E.) from Chesterfield. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
Church records[edit | edit source]
Clowne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Clowne Parish Online Records|
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1296 has deposited registers Bap 1558-1979 Mar 1588-1988 Burials 1558-1909 Banns 1754-1774,1824-1845, 1889-1906
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1869 Mar 1673-1836 Burials 1673-1868
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- United Methodist Free
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Clowne on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 644-647 Date accessed: 24 June 2013.