To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Clipston, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Clipston, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clipston, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rothwell
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Market Harborough
Registration District Market Harborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1667
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothwell
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CLIPSTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Market-Harborough, hundred of Rothwell, N. division of the county of Northampton, 4 miles (S. S. W.) from Market-Harborough.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Clipston, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Clipston, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1825 1813-1825
AC PRs 1813-1878 1813-1878
FREG 1861-1930

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed 31 December 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.